The Church of Our Savior on the Spilled Blood (Спас на Крови, Church on Spilled Blood) is one of the most famous sights of St. Petersburg. It was built on the site where an attempt on the emperor’s life in St. Petersburg happened. Emperor Alexander II was fatally wounded 1 (13) March 1881. Stones with traces of the blood of the tsar are preserved inside the cathedral until now.
The church is particularly popular among foreign tourists. Artists, live music, souvenirs sellers are usually working next to the cathedral.
Why this church is so popular with tourists? There are several reasons for this.
- Exterior of the cathedral combines images of many Russian Orthodox churches. Bright, richly decorated building has features of many Russian churches. Great influence on the appearance of the temple had architecture of St. Basil's Cathedral in Moscow.
- The interior of the cathedral is unique. All walls, pylons, arches and domes are covered with mosaic. A rich collection of gems, jewelry enamel, colored tiles, made by best artists of that time was used in finishing the building. Inside the temple is a veritable collection of mosaics. The church mosaic collection is one of the largest collections in Europe.
- Cathedral of the Savior on Blood is located in the heart of the city near the metro station “Nevsky Prospekt”. Walking from Nevsky Prospect on the embankment of Griboyedov Canal is the most convenient way to get to it.
Brief history of the cathedral
Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood (Church on Spilt Blood or Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ ) in Saint Petersburg was built on the place where was attempt to kill Emperor Alexander I. Church is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg on the “Griboyedov” canal embankment. The height of the temple is 81 m.
Construction of the temple began in October 1883. The cathedral was consecrated August 6, 1907. It was decided to destroy the church in November 1931, but this decision was not implemented. The cathedral housed a mortuary during the Second World War. There was a warehouse after the war in the temple. The cathedral was get under state protection in 1968.
The museum “Church on Spilt Blood“ was opened for visitors August 19, 1997. The Cathedral is a branch of the "St. Isaac's Cathedral" museum. Entrance to the Cathedral is for an extra charge. (Full ticket cost 250 rubles, 2016.)